judicial seal


Judicial Branch, State of New Hampshire

Laura Kiernan
Communications Director
603-271-2646 ext 2359

UPDATE: The date of the public meeting and hearing described below has been changed to June 17, 2011. SEE NOTICE.

Rules Committee Meetings Now Open to the Public


CONCORD - Meetings of the Supreme Court Advisory Committee on Rules will be open to the public as of June 24, 2011, the next scheduled meeting of the full committee.

The Supreme Court concluded that "it made sense" to open the meetings to the public as part of the ongoing effort by the Judicial Branch to promote transparency about practices and procedures that govern the state courts, according to Associate Justice Robert J. Lynn, who serves as committee chair.

"We felt citizens ought to have the opportunity to observe the operations of the committee and listen to the discussions at the meetings," Lynn said.

"The public has the right to be there," he said.

The 16-member committee makes recommendations at least once a year to the Supreme Court for changes and amendments to the rules.

The advisory committee, established by Supreme Court Rule 51, accepts written suggestions for changes from judges, attorneys and the public. The committee meets four times a year at the Supreme Court and also holds at least one public hearing per year on proposed rule changes. Eleven committee members are appointed by the Supreme Court: a Supreme Court justice, a judge from the Superior, the District Court and the Probate Court, a representative from the Family division; two lawyers, a clerk of court, and three members of the public who are not lawyers. The Governor, Senate President and House Speaker each appoint one member and the New Hampshire Bar Association appoints two members.

In addition to Justice Lynn, current rules committee members are Karen Anderson; Gina B. Apicelli, Esquire; William F.J. Ardinger, Esquire; Edda Cantor; Robert L. Chase; Honorable R. Laurence Cullen; Honorable Richard A. Hampe; Jeanne P. Herrick, Esquire; Martin P. Honigberg, Esquire; Honorable Diane Nicolosi; Emily G. Rice, Esquire; Jennifer L. Parent, Esquire; Raymond W. Taylor, Esquire; and House Speaker William L. O'Brien. The Senate appointment is currently vacant.

More information about the rules Committee, including minutes of meetings, is available on the Judicial Branch website at http://www.courts.state.nh.us/committees/adviscommrules/index.htm.