Service Center New Hampshire Circuit Court

REOPENING AN ESTATE FOR NEWLY DISCOVERED ASSETS – WITHOUT A WILL DATE OF DEATH ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2003

Items listed below are needed to start this type case:	
	Petition form (NHJB-2128-P) (Motion to Reopen)
	Heirs-at-Law - Estate Without Will form (NHJB-2151-P)
Other items that may be needed:	
	Petition for Estate Administration form (NHJB-2145-Pe) - <u>must file</u> if a different Administrator than the initial petition is seeking to reopen the estate.
	Appointment of Resident Agent form (NHJB-2120-P) is needed if you are the person requesting to be Administrator and not a New Hampshire resident.
	A copy of the Death Certificate must be filed if the previous administrator is deceased.
	Photo identification may be required.
	How much will this cost?
	Filing fee of \$150.00
What happens next?	
	The court will set the bond amount. You will need to file a Fiduciary Bond form (NHJB-2137-P) if a personal bond without sureties is required. You will need to contact an insurance agency if a bond with sureties is required.
	A new Certificate of Appointment will be issued after the court approves the bond.
	Inventory of Fiduciary form (NHJB-2125-P) must be filed within 90 days from the date that the Petition to Reopen the Estate was granted, if the newly discovered asset is an item of real or personal property of uncertain value. If the newly discovered asset is cash, stock or other item of certain value, an Inventory of Fiduciary form will not be required.
	A Motion for Order of Distribution form (NHJB-2131-P) must be filed within 60 days from the date that the Petition to Reopen the Estate was granted, if no Inventory of Fiduciary form is required. In Estates where an Inventory is required the Motion for Order of Distribution form (NHJB-2131-P) must be filed within 60 days from the Inventory of Fiduciary due date. A schedule sheet detailing the administrative expenses of the estate since reopening should be attached to the Motion for Order of Distribution form.
	Receipt form (NHJB-2139-P) must be filed within 30 days from the date that the Motion for Distribution was granted. The receipt must reflect the newly found asset that was distributed.
	Forms and Instructions are available at any NH Circuit Court – Probate Division or at www.courts.state.nh.us/probate