
Revised 06/2017 

WILLS 
FREQUENTLY ASKED 

QUESTIONS 
 
 
Can I write my own will? 
Yes, people can write their own wills 
in New Hampshire. Under New 
Hampshire law everyone at least 18 
years of age and married persons 
under that age, who are of sane 
mind, may dispose of their property 
by their last will in writing. In order 
for a will or codicil to be valid under 
New Hampshire law, it must comply 
with the requirements of the law. 
For instance, the will must be in 
writing, signed by the person whose 
will it is, and signed by two or more 
credible witnesses who must swear 
that the person's signature is 
genuine.  The court does not 
provide standard forms for writing a 
will. 
 
When someone dies, do I need to 
file the will or do anything in the 
probate court if everything is 
already in my name? 
Even if there are no assets, if a will 
exists for the deceased person, the 
person named in the will as 
executor, or the person holding the 

original will, must file the will, any 
codicils and a certified death 
certificate with the Probate Court 
within thirty (30) days of the date of 
death. If real or personal property is 
held as a "joint tenancy with rights 
of survivorship," it is not part of the 
probate estate since the title passes 
at death directly to the surviving 
joint tenant. 
 
How long do creditors have to file 
a claim against the estate? 
The estate must remain open for at 
least six (6) months from the date of 
executor's appointment to allow 
creditors to present claims. If all 
claims have been paid, the estate 
may be closed and either a motion 
for summary administration or a 
final account must be filed after six 
months. 
 
What happens if there is no will? 
If there are assets to distribute, an 
estate should be opened.  See 
checklist 010e, Opening an Estate 
without a Will, for the required forms 
and filing fee. 
 
 
 

What happens if you are not a 
relative, but the family asked you 
to open the estate? 
If there is a will, the executor named 
should open the estate. If that 
person cannot or will not open the 
estate, anyone may open the 
estate. If the person died without a 
will, the law says thirty (30) days 
from the date of death, anyone may 
petition to open an estate. 
 
How do I get a copy of 
documents in a case file? 
You can call or write the probate 
division where the case is located 
and request them.  A copy of will 
costs $.50 cents per page and an 
additional $10.00 if you need a 
certified copy.  All other documents 
in the estate file are also $.50 cents 
per page.  
 
Where can I get forms for a living 
will? 
The court does not provide forms 
for living wills. You can request a 
form for a living will at the New 
Hampshire Hospital Association, 
125 Airport Road, 
Concord, NH 03301, or call (603) 
225-0900.  
 
 

https://www.courts.state.nh.us/nh-e-court-project/instructions/010eFullEst-nowill.pdf
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1-855-212-1234 
probateservice@courts.state.nh.us  

 
 

Hours of operation 
 

Monday through Friday 
 

8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
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