New Hampshire Superior Court Petition for Termination of RSA 651-B Registration Requirements

RSA 651-B:6,V sets forth the requirements for a petition to terminate registration of a Tier II or Tier III lifetime offender who was convicted prior to the establishment of the sex offender registry.

How to file a petition

<u>Jurisdiction</u> – A petition shall be filed in the county of the most recent conviction that required registration. If the petitioner is registering as a result of an out-of state or federal conviction, the petition shall be filed in the county where the petitioner resides.

<u>Required information</u> – The petition shall include:

- Petitioner's name, date of birth and current address
- Law enforcement agency with whom the petitioner is currently registered
- Information about the conviction(s) that require the petitioner to register, including
 - Nature of the offense
 - o Charge(s)
 - o Date of conviction
 - Sentence imposed
 - Court and state of conviction
- A certified copy of the petitioner's criminal history
- A risk assessment prepared by a qualified psychiatrist or psychologist at the petitioner's expense, and indicate that the petitioner
 - o Is not a danger to the public, AND
 - o No longer poses a risk sufficient to justify continued registration.

Filing fee – the petition is a civil action, and shall be accompanied by the civil filing fee.

Service

• Petitioner is not required to provide formal service on any parties. Petitioner shall file a "courtesy copy" of the petition with the county attorney, the department of safety sex offender unit and the department of corrections.

When to file a petition

Original petition

- The petition shall not be filed prior to:
 - The completion of all of the terms and conditions of the sentence, including any period of supervised release/probation/parole.

Subsequent petition

If a petition has been previously filed and denied, the petitioner may not file another
petition in any New Hampshire Superior Court for 5 years from the date of the denial by
the court.

June 27, 2016 Page 1

Hearing on the petition

Schedule

- A hearing on the merits of the petition shall be scheduled no sooner than 60 days from the filing of the petition.
- The Court shall provide notice of the hearing at least 60 days prior to the hearing to:
 - The county attorney
 - o The department of safety sex offender unit
 - The department of corrections

Order

- The court may grant the petition if the petitioner has:
 - o Not been convicted of any subsequent registerable offense
 - Successfully completed any supervised release/probation/parole
 - Successfully completed a sex offender treatment program as determined by the court
 - o Demonstrated that he/she is no longer a danger to the public
 - Demonstrated that he/she no longer poses a risk sufficient to justify continued registration.
- The court shall send a copy of the final order granting or denying the petition to:
 - The county attorney
 - o The department of safety sex offender unit
 - o The department of corrections

June 27, 2016 Page 2