Date October 23, 2001 Contact: Laura Kiernan
Court Information Officer
271-2646 x359




CONCORD—The Supreme Court has formally approved the addition of a member of the Senate and the House, and an appointee of the governor to the Supreme Court’s Advisory Committee on Rules.

In a letter to Gov. Jeanne Shaheen and the leaders of the Senate and House, Chief Justice David A. Brock said it was the first time that the Supreme Court has asked a co-equal branch of government to appoint a member to a court committee.

"The court believes it is important that appointees from other branches of government have input into the rule-making process," The Chief Justice said. The term of the appointments would begin on January 1, 2002.

The 13-member committee will also include Supreme Court Justice Linda S. Dalianis, Superior Court Justice Philip R. Mangones, District Court Judge Robert Cullinane, Probate Court Judge Richard A. Hampe, Attorneys Jack B. Middleton and Emily G. Rice, public members Alice Guay and Amanda Merrill (a position for a third public member will be available on January 1) and Rockingham County Superior Court Clerk Raymond W. Taylor. All were appointed by the Supreme Court.