Service Center

New Hampshire Circuit Court

OPENING AN ESTATE - WITH A WILL
DATE OF DEATH ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2006

Items listed below are needed to start this type case:

[] Petition for Estate Administration form (NHJB-2145-P)

[] Legatees and Devisees - Estate with Will form (NHJB-2150-P)

[] Original Will and all Codicils

] Certified Copy of the Death Certificate

| Other items that may be needed:

L] Appointment of Resident Agent form (NHJB-2120-P) is needed if you are the person requesting to
be Executor and not a New Hampshire resident.

] Affidavit of Counsel as to Propriety of a Foreign Will/Codicil to be Admitted into Probate form
(NHJB-2146-P) is needed if the Will/Codicil being filed was written in another state or foreign
country.

[] Certification of Trust form (NHJB-2634-P) is needed if there is reference to inter-vivos trust in the will

L] Declination form (NHJB-2123-P) is needed if the person named in the Will as Executor does not
want to be appointed Executor of the Estate.

L] Fiduciary Bond form (NHJB-2137-P) is needed for Estates with a value of $25,000.00 or less. The
court will set the bond amount if the Estate value is over $25,000.00.

] Photo identification may be required.

| How much will this cost?

[]  Estate with a value of $10,000.00 or less - Total filing fee of $110.00

[] Estate with a value of $10,001.00 up to $25,000.00 - Filing fee $110.00 + Publication fee
$ = Total filing fee of $ .

] Estate with a value over $25,000.00 - Filing fee of $220.00 + Publication fee
$ = Total filing fee of $ .

| What happens next?

[] The court will set the bond amount if the estate value is over $25,000.00. You will need to contact
an insurance agency if a bond with sureties is required.

] A Certificate of Appointment will be issued after the court approves the bond.

] Notice to Surviving Spouse, Legatees, Heirs at Law and Return of Notice form (NHJB-2127-P) must
be filed no later than 90 days from the date you are appointed as Executor.

] Inventory of Fiduciary form (NHJB-2125-P) must be filed within 90 days from the date you are

appointed as Executor.

2 Options
] Motion for Summary Administration and Assents (NHJB-2149-P) may be filed if the requirements are
met. See form and instructions for detail. There is a filing fee.

O
Py

[] Executor/Administrator's Accounting form (NHJB-2117-P) must be filed within one year from the date
you are appointed as Executor. The Executor must file this form each year the estate remains
open. There is a filing fee.

Forms and Instructions are available at any NH Circuit Court - Probate Division
or at
www.courts.state.nh.us/probate
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http://www.courts.state.nh.us/forms/nhjb-2145-p.pdf
http://www.courts.state.nh.us/forms/nhjb-2150-p.pdf
http://www.courts.state.nh.us/forms/nhjb-2120-p.pdf
http://www.courts.state.nh.us/forms/nhjb-2146-p.pdf
http://www.courts.state.nh.us/forms/nhjb-2634-p.pdf
http://www.courts.state.nh.us/forms/nhjb-2123-p.pdf
http://www.courts.state.nh.us/forms/nhjb-2137-p.pdf
http://www.courts.state.nh.us/forms/nhjb-2127-p.pdf
http://www.courts.state.nh.us/forms/nhjb-2125-p.pdf
http://www.courts.state.nh.us/forms/nhjb-2149-p.pdf
http://www.courts.state.nh.us/forms/nhjb-2117-p.pdf
http://www.courts.state.nh.us/probate

