New Hampshire Judicial branch seal
Image: Find Your Court!

Daily Docket Icon

New Civil Rules of Procedure


Superior Court - The State Court for Trials by Jury
Superior Court - What's new
New Hampshire Superior Court Limits Livestream of Jury Trials
Return to Operations Committee Develops Jury Trial Plan
The Superior Court Civil e-File training video can be found here.
Superior Court Electronic Filing Rules Adopted by the NH Supreme Court
Felonies First Implementation Schedule
Superior Court to begin emailing notices and non-confidential orders to parties
New informational videos for parties involved in the Superior Court have been posted on our Superior Court videos page

All Superior Courts have switched to the toll free call center telephone number
(1-855-212-1234). This number took the place of the individual court phone numbers. For callers outside the U.S and Canada the number is 1-603-415-0162.
IMPORTANT NOTICE: If your phone is set up to block private numbers, you will need to change the blocking feature or provide a number that will accept calls from the Superior and Circuit Courts.

The Superior Court is a statewide court of general jurisdiction and provides jury trials in civil and criminal cases. There are 11 Superior Court sites in New Hampshire, one for each county and two in Hillsborough County.

The Superior Court was established by the legislature in April 1901 when two courts were organized to take the place of the Supreme Court as it then existed.

With that change, the Supreme Court, comprised of a chief justice and four associate justices, was given jurisdiction over what until then had been called "law terms" during which questions of law brought on appeal were heard. The Superior Court was given jurisdiction over trials. The advantage to this system was that a trial court’s ruling would be heard by a separate court of appeals of which the trial court judge was not a member.

There are now 20 fulltime judges serving on the Superior Court throughout the state. Under the State constitution, the Governor, with approval of a majority of the Executive Council appoints judges who hold office until they attain the age of 70.

The Superior Court hears the following types of cases:

  1. Negligence, contracts, real property rights and other civil matters with a minimum claim of $1,500 in damages in which either party requests a trial by jury. The Superior Court has exclusive jurisdiction over cases in which the damage claims exceed $25,000.
  2. Felonies (major crimes such as drugs, burglary, theft and aggravated felonious sexual assault).
  3. Misdemeanor appeals from the Circuit Court District Division.

The Superior Court also has exclusive jurisdiction over petitions for injunctive relief, in which parties seek a court order to block action, appeals from zoning and planning board decisions, disputes over title to real estate and petitions to enforce contracts.



Accessibility Options | FAQ | Site Map | Contact Us | N.H. Legislative Branch | N.H. Executive Branch | NH.Gov | Revised Statutes Online